Critiquing The Madness

OK, so I’ve finally returned home.  Let’s see how I did with my predictions for the top 4 seeds.
(The teams I got wrong are in red.)

#1:  Louisville, UNC, Pittsburgh, Memphis
#2: UConn, Oklahoma, Michigan State, Duke
#3: Wake Forest, Gonzaga, Washington, Kansas
#4: Syracuse, Missouri, Clemson, Villanova

OK, so 7 out of 16 is under .500. Lo siento.

Interesting point:  Three of my four #4 seeds  – Syracuse, Missouri & Villanova – were all determined by the committee to be #3 seeds. So at least I had them figured on the same level of competition as the committee, if that’s any consolation. Which it isn’t.
Before I breeze, here are three quick notes about the pairings after I’ve reviewed the bracket (and watched the ESPN boys argue about it for two hours):

  1. Clemson is the best #7 seed you will ever see.
  2. I have no clue how seven Big Ten teams got in. It’s no surprise three of their teams were among the six lowest at-large teams. I doubt you’ll see more than two of them advance past the first weekend.
  3. I’m pleasantly surprised that Syracuse got a #3 seed (Full disclosure: I’m a Syracuse alum).

I’ll be in touch.

Leave a Reply

