June 22, 2009: The Day of the Metro Crash

Note: The following story is from a friend of mine who was actually on a Red Line train in Washington, D.C.  when the Metro Crash happened. Sometimes, we are truly blessed.

(courtesy of The Book of Jackson from June 22, 2009)

At least six people were killed in a rush-hour train accident in Washington, D.C., on Monday. (AP photo / June 22, 2009)

Dear DMV:

I work downtown near Metro Center. I left work today at 4:30PM on the dot. I actually remember this for a fact because I hit the standby button on my laptop as soon as I saw the time. I walked to the Metro Center metro station to board the red line train in the direction of Silver Spring. As soon as I walk into the station I’m overwhelmed with humidity. I still don’t understand why Metro can’t spring for some A/C. As I’m walking into the station the station operator announces, “We’re currently experiencing delays on the Red Line in the direction of Shady Grove because of mechanical difficulties. Trains are sharing one track between Van Ness-UDC and Friendship Heights.” And as I’m walking in the station I’m like it’s going to be freaking packed on these trains. So TWO trains come and as people try to force their way on the train, I’m like listen this shit ain’t worth it, I’m just going to wait it out. I wait and catch the third one that came. I was actually able to get a seat and I felt good about my commute, after all I have to go all the way to Silver Spring, a seat is a godsend.

(To read the rest of the story, click here.)

I work downtown near Metro Center. I left work today at 4:30PM on the dot. I actually remember this for a fact because I hit the standby button on my laptop as soon as I saw the time. I walked to the Metro Center metro station to board the red line train in the direction of Silver Spring. As soon as I walk into the station i’m overwhelmed with humidity. I still don’t understand why Metro can’t spring for some A/C. As i’m walking into the station the station operator announces, “We’re currently experiencing delays on the Red Line in the direction of Shady Grove because of mechanical difficulties. Trains are sharing one track between Van NessUDC and Friendship Heights.” And as i’m walking in the station i’m like it’s going to be freaking packed on these trains. So TWO trains come and as people try to force their way on the train, i’m like listen this shit ain’t worth it, i’m just going to wait it out. I wait and catch the third one that came. I was actually able to get a seat and I felt good about my commute, after all I have to go all the way to Silver Spring, a seat is a godsend
Leave a Reply

